• Tweets

• I am a University Student looking to rent accommodation along with three other Students We found a four bedroomed flat and called the Letting Agent to say we were very interested We had a viewing and raised some questions We wanted to check if there was a break clause in the Lease The Letting Agent said we would need to pay a Holding Deposit whilst he waited for the Landlady to return from Holiday So we paid £750 split between the four of us to the Letting Agent We then received an email to say the Holding Deposit was non refundable References were then checked and the tenancy Agreement arrived which needed to be signed by each guarantor and tenant and send back the full signed agreement At this point we got to see the Tenancy Agreement for the first time and the break clause of 6 months was nowhere to be seen so this made us very nervous and we decided to pull out as we felt we didn’t want the risk of not being allowed to leave the property until a full year was up We emailed the Letting Agent who replied with the following: The holding deposit is not refundable as you are withdrawing from this deal. I will need a confirmation from Everyone that they are withdrawing and we will put the property back on the market.   The move in date is on the 4th Sept and the landlady is left with a very short time to find another tenant.    This will incur a lot of extra cost from both us as an agency and the landlady which we will try to recover. So, my question is are we eligible to get a refund of our Holding Deposit – bearing in mind we were not told we wouldn’t get it back until after we had paid it?