Halifax Default-5yrs old only entered to credit file after I reclaimed bank charges!

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 6022 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi there,

I wondered if anyone could help/advise or maybe if anyone else has had a similar problem.

Back in 2002 I was a student and had a bank account with Halifax with a £750.00 overdraft. As a result of going just £5 over my overdraft I received a few bank charges totalling about £150 which I have since successfully reclaimed. However, as a result of these charges I ended up having to pay back the overdraft and charges money to Halifax in monthly installments and the account was closed.

Now, 5 years later I notice that they have put a settled default notice on my account dated June 2002 for £842. However I regularly request copies of my credit file and this default has only appeared since I reclaimed my bank charges - it's as if they are retaliating in some way!! I also know this definately has only appeared over the past couple of months as I have successfully had two mortgage applications and other credit over the past few years and never had a problem yet now no one will touch me!

So I wrote to Halifax using a template from here requesting that they sent me a copy of the default notice as I never received one and didn't know anything about it until now. They wrote back and said they didn't have a copy and weren't legally obliged to send me one but did send a blank template of what it would have looked like. They also sent a copy of my original account opening application form which I didn't ask for!