Jump to content

Showing results for tags 'mot'.

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • The Consumer Forums: The Mall
    • Welcome to the Consumer Forums
    • FAQs
    • Forum Rules - Please read before posting
    • Consumer Forums website - Post Your Questions & Suggestions about this site
    • Helpful Organisations
    • The Bear Garden – for off-topic chat
  • CAG Community centre
    • CAG Community Centre Subforums:-
  • Consumer TV/Radio Listings
    • Consumer TV and Radio Listings
  • CAG Library - Please register
    • CAG library Subforums
  • Banks, Loans & Credit
    • Bank and Finance Subforums:
    • Other Institutions
  • Retail and Non-retail Goods and Services
    • Non-Retail subforums
    • Retail Subforums
  • Work, Social and Community
    • Work, Social and Community Subforums:
  • Debt problems - including homes/ mortgages, PayDay Loans
    • Debt subforums:
    • PayDay loan and other Short Term Loans subforum:
  • Motoring
    • Motoring subforums
  • Legal Forums
    • Legal Issues subforums

Categories

  • Records

Categories

  • News from the National Consumer Service
  • News from the Web

Blogs

  • A Say in the Life of .....
  • Debt Diaries
  • Shopping & Money Saving Tips
  • chilleddrivingtuition
  • Homegirlxx

Categories

  • The Youth Academy
    • The Youth Consumer Service
  • Miscellaneous

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


About Me


Location

  1. Help, Please can anyone advise me where to turn to. I bought a 3 year old approved used Mercedes from a Mercedes dealership on Dec 22nd 2017. I was told verbally that the car was being MOTed the day prior to my picking it up and I was giving paperwork listing the MOT date as Dec 22nd 2017 - Dec 22nd 2018. I was overseas for a while in Sept / Oct and left the car in airport parking. Whilst I was away my car was damaged with some scratching to the bumper. I returned to the UK and amongst the admin I had was a reminder for taxing my car. When I tried to do this I real
  2. The new MOT! https://uk.news.yahoo.com/heres-everything-need-know-new-mot-test-100311860.html
  3. Hi there, I purchased a car from Arnold Clark around 3 months ago which included a service and MOT plan. I had no end of issues when purchasing the car. I signed 3 different order forms because the sales person entered incorrect info, I travelled 3 hours each way to collect the car to be told the car was not ready to go, as well as various other problems that complicated and confused the buying process. I feel that this service plan was not explained to me properly and if I had understood I would be paying interest for a service plan over 3 years I wouldnt have bother
  4. I purchased a car on the 08/04/17 from Jason Atterbury Cars in Leicester. It came with a clean MOT on checking out previous MOTs online I discovered some discrepancies. I took the car for a pre MOT check at my local testing station on the 29/04/17 they found that the car should of failed its MOT on 2 issues and also have 8 advisories on it. The car was MOTd by ther dealer on the 21/03/17 where it failed on exhaust gasses leaking and an advisory for the front shocker having a misting of oil. on the retest done on the 27/04/17 it passed as the exhaust had been w
  5. Hi everybody, I've been pointed in this direction by a reddit user for help relating to a Parking Charge Notice. I took my car to my local garage to get an MOT check done on 01/09/2016. The owner then drove the car to the MOT garage and parked it up inside and then returned back to his garage. A few hours later I hadn't received a phone call yet to say it had been completed so I rang up to find out that my car was OK to collect. I then made my way there and collected my car from the (private) parking lot less than 30 meters away from the MOT garage. Fast-forward a wee
  6. A friend sold his car in late November for £500 after advertising it on a local for sale site. The friend had explained to the buyer that the MOT had almost run out and that the car needed quite a bit of work. Last week he received a MCOL claim for the full £500 and the buyer stated that my friend sold him a car with a 'false MOT' and that my friend 'withheld the true state of the vehicle's condition'. The MOT was provided by the keeper previous to my friend and after having looked on the Gov website, it appears to be fine. Surely this can not be a 'false MOT'? My personal
  7. In September this year I was driving my SORNED 29 year old car to an MOT in Penge as there is a classic Citroen specialist who looks after said cars. I broke down at the traffic lights in Crystal Palace causing untold mayhem during the beginnings of the Friday rush hour. The police passed by, but didn't stop to help. Two young men helped me push the car to safety and allowed the traffic to flow. I waited for the breakdown recovery people to arrive for two hours and when they did, the journey continued to Penge - a mere two or three miles down the road. It was ther
  8. Hi guys, This is a long read, I know, but I believe that not only have I purchased a car with a fraudulent MOT, I have also uncovered a rather large fraud involving a very well known scrap collection company. I bought a 52 plate (2002) Ford Mondeo on eBay on 10th July. The car was advertised as having 12 months MOT and it was stated that the car passed with zero advisories on the 6th July and that it had been 'fastidiously maintained'. I checked it's MOT online and it showed that it had indeed passed with no advisories. This obviously gave me the confidence to bid on the vehicle with
  9. My 21 year old grandaughter recently took her car for MOT. She had won a voucher for a free MOT at a local garage in a raffle - not the garage she normally uses and not one she would probably have considered otherwise. It failed spetacularly and they quoted her £700 for repairs - fortunately she had the sense to decline and walk away. She subsequently presented the car for MOT at another trusted garage. Result - no problems and a pass. Clearly the first garage was at fault and needs to be reported for this as they must be doing this on an ongoing basis to anyone who is prepared to fall for it.
  10. From 24 March 2016, the way headlamp aim is measured on the MOT test is changing. The new testing standards will emphasise the importance of correct alignment and stress that it shouldn’t be just a quick check. It’s been trialled with the help of VTS council member volunteers with the results verified by the Vehicle Safety Research Centre at Loughborough University. Headlamp aim consistently tops the MOT compliance survey as one of the most likely items to be assessed incorrectly by testers. In other words, the most complained about as a test failure. These new changes will
  11. Robert Cooper & John Cooper T/A Cooper Brothers - Wishaw Reason for withdrawl - Administrative Shortcomings Period of withdrawl - 5 Years Effective from 16/10/2015
  12. Last month, while I was out of the country my girlfriend, a shy kindly easily intimidated lady (who wouldn't say boo to a goose but would give her last penny to help somebody in need) had a flat tyre in her old but reliable Toyota Yaris. A work collegue fitted the space saver wheel and unfortunately told her she must go directly to the nearest tyre place (rather than her usual trusted garage) and have it fixed .She took the car K.F. Chesterfield branch on Lordsmill street expecting to pay up to £50 for a new tyre if it wasn't repairable. Without being asked they checked
  13. Here are details of Authorised Examiners and MOT garages that have been issued with Notice of Cessation following formal disciplinary action under the rules of the MOT scheme. Trading Name...................Location...........Ceased due to...........Period.........Effective Colin W Crosby....................Wallingford.........Testing Standards........5 Years.........08/09/15 T/A Crosby Engineering. KS Auto Glasgow Ltd............Glasgow.............Administrative.............5 Years.........06/10/15 ................................................................shortco
  14. Hello All,My first post and its a question :)My lodger has two Mazdas, she bought the first about 12 months ago - a mark 1 and about two weeks later bought a mark 2 the mad girl.The Mk1 has sat for a year in a garage and is now due for another MOT - why she hasnt gotten rid already I dont know but non the less.She took it for an MOT and it failed on some small welding job that needs sorting out - she has taken the car back to the garage from the test centre and has asked me to find a welder for her which I have done.The car needs to go from the garage to the welder ( a journey of about 7 miles
  15. It should be noted that to date (3rd Sept 2015) I have not received any personal response from Kwick Fit since I sent this to them on 28/8/15 via their online coolants form. Dear Sir, Complaint regarding Kwick Fit at Sunderland Road, Gateshead During a recent MOT of my car at this garage on 2/6/2015 it failed due to supposedly faulty wiper blades. These were replaced in order to pass the MOT. I was curious of this failure as I had run my finger along the blades beforehand and did not feel any damage on the rubber nor was there any obstruction on the windscreen. I asked for
  16. OH bought a car (VW Golf 2007) 3 weeks ago. MOT'd until Dec 2016 3 month warranty Yesterday 'Front brake pads' warning light came on. So I checked previous MOT's (previous owner). 2014 - Advisory note details attached states brakes 50% worn. 2015 - No details at all on Advisory note this time. Same garage as above MOT but not dealer. Now can I contact the garage for any advisory details ? Or to find out if they were replaced ? Thanks for looking.
  17. this is a good one(not for me) I had my car sorn and parked on my drive, i pre booked an mot for 1030 next day , circa 8 am as the mrs went to take the kids to school she asked me to save her a parking space , i went to try and tax the car on line but could not, i went outside and swapped cars came back in and tried again to tax it could not, i thought well ill just go to mot place as i was going to the car and wait for the mrs she walks in with a smile on her face " you ve been clamped " i replied " yeah sure
  18. My garage placed an advisory on my mot saying" brake pads wearing thin" and was told they were border line, I stripped them down and low and behold there was more than half of the pads left. As I had them stripped I replaced them and took my old ones back to the mot station. I quizzed them why they had put the advisory on and they said when something cannot be seen then they have to advise people that there Is a problem. I asked if that was the case then why weren't all four corners an advisory. I asked them if I had left them the car for repair would they have
  19. We picked our car up Saturday 31st, from a garage near sheffield, we got finance on the car, so though at least if things don't go right we can just deal with the finance co' So believe it or not, the car started playing up, pulling to the left and knocking around, we managed to get it home as it was closer than returning to the dealer ( safely anyway) after speaking to the rude dealer who said it had just been mot'd and serviced, and putting the phone down on me a few times, it was agreed to take the car to a local garage for them to have a look at . within 5 min
  20. Hi, I paid the deposit on a car a few days ago from a dealer and was told there would be no MOT done on it as it had aa long time to run on the current one. I asked them to put 12 months on anyway and paid an extra £30 for it. I was due to collect the car today but have been told it failed the MOT on tyres, pads and discs. I'm assuming they are under obligation to supply a roadworthy car so I'm not going to see these items added to my bill when I go to pay the balance?
  21. Hi there, I purchased a used Alfa GT 1.9 JTD from a private seller advertising on autotrader around 1 month ago. this was the advertisement posted: M-JET 16v 3 DOOR GT COUPE, WITH FULL LEATHER INTERIOR , FULL SERVICE HISTORY ALL MANUALS 2 KEYS AND PLENTY OF RECIEPTS, RECENT CLUTCH AND SERVICE,REAR SPRING AND DROP LINKS, 6 SPEED MANUAL 150 bhp POWER AND ECONOMY ALL UNDER ONE HOOD.TWIN TAIL PIPE EXHAUST,SOUGHT AFTER STYLISH ITALIAN THOROUGH-BRED COUPE ALL IN COLOUR CODED AZZURE, BLUE, Next MOT due 04/09/2015, Tax expires 31/01/2015, Full service history, Electric windows, Air cond
  22. Does a vehicle have to be insured to drive it to a MOT station on a pre-arranged appointment? I have comprehensive cover on my own vehicle and third party cover if driving another vehicle.
  23. Honestly, why i dont listen to people about Kwik Fit i dont know. Decided to book an MOT a week + in advance as it was expiring on the 9th September, i see Kwik Fit are available on Sunday at 11am, pay for it and job done. Felt quite good about myself that i sorted it out and didnt run around like a headless chicken last minute. I get a phone call this morning at 10am, 30 minutes before i am suppossed to arrive for my MOT appointment telling me, he wont be able to do my MOT as he has no testers available but he can reschedule me for the next available date which is the 12th, 3 days after
  24. I recently bought a second hand car from a private seller. I agreed with the seller that I bought the car "sold as seen". I therefore fully accept that any problems with the car are my responsibility. However I later discovered that the MOT certificate had been doctored. Advisories had been erased. The erased advisory stated smoking exhaust/engine worn. The car has just failed it's MOT on exhaust emissions. I contacted VOSA and Trading Standards regarding being given a doctored MOT certificate by the seller. They both said that they cannot help me.
  25. When my wife drove my LR discovery for MOT in a big garage chain, all lights were off on the dash before MOT. But after MOT, ABS, HDC, TC and brake system lights are on, never off, radio also is not powered on. MOT failed for ABS light. I asked them to reset all lights. They said they followed the procedure, they are not responsible. Who should I complain to? Thanks in advance Kai
×
×
  • Create New...