Anyone think there is something wrong with this?

paulyp
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 6184 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi,

New to this forum, but some cracking good threads. Hats off to you all for having such an informative thread.

My query is probably something that you can help with. I had my first loan in 1997, and had one every year until 2003 when i graduated. I am now earning over the threshold and the SLC want me to start my repayments (Old mortgage style). Anyway, when I took my first loan in 1997 I was only 17 years old. If that was under the old consumer credit act, then was that illegal for them to provide a 17 year old with debt, or having signed for it, am I still legally bound to pay that back?

Thanks in advance :-)

PaulyP

What a jolly good question!

I wish I knew the answer!!!! :confused:

Pre-1997 loans were regulated under CCA, so I would get a copy of the agreement sent to you (and the others while you are at it!) so that you can check them for legalities and enforceability.

I think that you could well be right about being under-age. Hopefully someone will have a definitive answer soon.

;)

2007 Issues ALL RESOLVED

2008 Issues ALL RESOLVED

£4,200 in charges claimed back succesfully from a total of 5 Creditors

2009 Issues ALL RESOLVED

NEXT Directory - No Agreement, No Further Action **WON**

2010 Issues

Court Claim from Black Horse - AOS 22.11.10, CPR 23.11.10

Assisting Daughter with Employment Tribunal for Wrongful Dismissal/Discrimination

:) My Head is officially out of the Sand :)

Post #3

I am not sure how you think this will help, and that is, after all, what we are all here for.