Virgin Active/LA Fitness

latay26
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4919 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi All

I was a member of Virgin active in 2004, I signed a Diamond contract that was cheaper as long as I kept going for a year. After a while I stopped going for various reasons but was happy to still pay the contract only now they want me to pay for a second year because according to them I am now in my second year & have to pay for that too :o :confused: My membership has been cancelled but they still insist I pay. :mad: Does anyone know, can they enforce this as I only signed up for one year not two??

My son is now having the same problem with LA Fitness :-|

Thanks

Liz

It seems a bizarre way to do business. Most fitness clubs I have joined over the years have a minimum term of 12 months membership when you sign up, but you should be able to give notice to leave at any time after that without being liable for the whole year. Have you got access to the contract to view the T's & C's?

• 1 month later...

David - thing is, if she hasn't got a good reason for not going (illness, poor/dangerous exercising facilities etc) and she's still within her original 12 months , she will still be liable for the full amount.

-----

Click the scales if I've been useful! :)

Thanks, My daughter has now found her Fitness First original contract! funny how things turn up when she has to pay out.

Anyway, carefully reading the contract very small print it does say that after 3 months minimum she can give one months notice in writing to cancel, even though the manager had told her strictly 12 months.- It's worth keeping these contracts in a safe place!