£52k debt on dmp and young onset dementia diagnosis - help needed

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 2036 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

My husband at 55 has just been diagnosed with young onset dementia,

he has £52k in unsecured debt in a DMP and we have mortgage arrears I have been managing for several years as he was being treated for anxiety and depression, I assume caused by the mis-management of our family finances ( a seperate issue), something that only came to light after he was made redundant in 2012.

My question is how to move forward

- I am unable to pay these debts (in his name) as I only work part time and have no idea how much longer I will be able to do this with his diagnosis and need for care and he has not been able to claim benefits during most of this period as the dwp declared him fit to work twice

- he received esa for the assessment phase and despite support from GP he was declared fit to work.

when he applied a second time he was advised he did not have enough contributions - vicious circle.

I have much to deal with moving forward but would appreciate advice on the debt above- unsecured.

I have spoken to the debt management company who advised I should contact the debtors myself.

I am in the process of obtaining an LPA financial.

Edited by dx100uk
spacing

Please advise details of debts.

Type of debt, approx date when credit was originally obtained, when last made any payment, whether debt in husbands sole name or joint debt. Please list them giving approx current debt balance for each debt.

Any assets such as property ?

Without more information, difficult for anyone to offer advice.