Employer wants to pay 50% of contractual sales commission owed

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 1973 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi,

I work in sales and my contract was amended some months ago to give me 1% commission on all combined sales above a target figure.

The target was designed to be easily achievable as my base salary was lower than I'd liked and I was effectively doing two jobs - both sales and IT.

The commission became due so I requested it twice via email (no response) I then raised it again via telephone. I got sat down in a meeting with my manager and the finance guy, they tried to tell me it was not payable for several months longer and also that the company didn't have the money..

After numerous emails they said OK we will pay you x amount as soon as you agree, x being about 50% less than I was expecting!

They are working out sales AFTER deducting tax, postage etc. they are saying that tax does not go to them, it goes to HMRC so it isn't considered part of a sales figure.

My contract does not say whether sales are GROSS or NET, from several verbal discussions before I signed, I was under the impression sales were GROSS.

The figure they suggest pays me approx. what I could get for doing the sales job elsewhere.. nothing more.. I also have effectively been on call and spent many extra unpaid hours..

I am sticking out for the full amount I think I'm owed and have given them 2 weeks to pay it - am I in the right?

Thanks in advance.

It all depends on whether a 'reasonable observer', reading your contract, would think the figure is gross or net.