BT civil proceedings - Advice

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 2285 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Good morning,

I am new to the concept of posting threads and would like to request any advice on the proceedings I am about to undertake with BT,

I am sure this subject has been discussed many times before, however not with me and therefore would like direct advice.

BT has issued my partner and I a charge of £130.00 for an engineers visit due to a diagnosis of a faulty router.

However the router was not faulty as when he left everything came back on and has been working for months correctly with no problems.

Phoned BT to ask what the charge was for and they said...(see above).

Complained to them regarding an incorrect diagnosis.

Three telephone conversations later they imply the router was faulty and imply I am using an after market router purchased by me subsequently.

This is not true and I have video evidence of the router in full working order with the serial number on the rear with which BT can cross reference to the last one they sent out.

The diagnosis was incorrect so should not have been issued the charge.

If the diagnosis had been correct it clearly states on BT website I may not be charged for a faulty router as it is under warranty due to us being in a legally enforceable contract.

I requested a letter of deadlock as BT refused to issue any refund or redress.

Went through the procedure of the Ombudsman.

This took quite a few weeks.

The result being the Ombudsman sent a proposal of £50 gesture of goodwill, a new router, and letter of apology from BT.