Sleep in Pay- Breaking the law on the minimum wage.

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 2311 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi.

Just needed some advice.

I currently work in the care industry.

At our place we do sleep ins as our clients need 24 hour care.

A letter was written complaining that in light of recent rulings regarding sleep in pay,

the employer was underpaying us under the national minimum wage.

This was discussed in our staff meeting with all the staff names typed on it.

The area manager wanted to know who sent it.

They were very dismissive of the letter.

The area manager commented on the poor way it was written.

They wrote directly to the individual concerned saying they would look into it.

As per company procedure, they failed to respond within the 10 working days.

In fear of being singled out and the effects it could have,

an anonymous letter was sent to the company.

It stated that they had broken the law by not paying the minimum wage.

It also said we should have been paid the full amount from the end of July.

It requested that a response had to be made in 14 days on how they were going to address the back pay.

It also expressed concerns of what may happen to the sleep ins and how it could affect our residents.

Whilst not everyone saw the letter before it was sent,

then the manager has shown the staff since.

Whilst some did not give their consent, all agree, including the manager that the contents were right.

Our concerns were over the monies owed to us prior to the 27th July 2017,

the monies due since then and proposed changes to our sleep-in arrangements.