car trade insurance p/t

fedupconsumer
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 2331 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Sounds a bit weird. Can't you tell us the whole story?

I am an accountant and have been buying the odd car here and there for some 8 years without any issues.

I changed insurer early this year to policy plan

- £400 cheaper

- and informed them that I only buy a few a year (6-10) and took the policy out

they wrote to me this month to say they have cancelled the policy because there was no activity on the MID register over a 3 month period.

Was not aware that insurance companies dictated when one need to work?

no amount of conversation has changed their mind.

I guess I need to think if a county court claim for breach of contract?

I really don't understand.

You pay for one year's insurance. You don't sell many cars so effectively you're not using the insurance which means that there is a minimal risk to the insurer and because the insurance company is essentially making pure profit because there is no risk of paying anything out, they cancel your insurance. Is this right?

Well this is an amazing story. I can't imagine why they might have that kind of policy. What does MID stand for? Are you sure there's no trace of any reference to this kind of thing or any obligation on your part in their terms and conditions?