Council Taking on line payments for old Bill

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 2430 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I have today had a letter from my council cancelling my right to pay my Council Tax. In installments.

I have been paying this on line for the last 4 months for this year on a regular basis. My last payment was paid on Monday this week.

When I received the letter I phoned my Council who informed me all my on line payments have been taken off an old Debt which is also being taken via my ESA.

They say I have to pay again as the money I have paid has gone off my old debt.

My question is, Is this correct and can they do this.? I spoke to someone back in April who assured me this would not happen again, Obviously, it has.

In respect of the monies which were being paid online - under what circumstances where they being paid, where you paying the same amount as shown on the demand notice and paying for the correct dates or where you paying odd amounts at different dates ?

Craig

I have today had a letter from my council cancelling my right to pay my Council Tax. In installments.

I have been paying this on line for the last 4 months for this year on a regular basis. My last payment was paid on Monday this week.

When I received the letter I phoned my Council who informed me all my on line payments have been taken off an old Debt which is also being taken via my ESA.

My question is, Is this correct and can they do this.? I spoke to someone back in April who assured me this would not happen again, Obviously, it has.

Was the earlier debt under a liability order?