STA DCA chasing old uni debt

stevesaint
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 2979 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello, I am new and need advice.

I studied at Uni and thought I had paid all my fees in advance (mature student). On xmas eve I received a letter from STA saying I owed £700+. I did not reply as I wanted to speak to my uni when they reopened after xmas on 4th Jan this year. Uni had never contacted me in anyway to chase any outstanding date and this was a bolf out of the blue.

I have read online that its best to ignore them, but I have received three letters now and the odd phone call and becoming worried. I left uni and suffer a mental illness, that means I tend to worry and stress.

My friends and family support me and tell me to ignore them too, but I feel maybe I should just try to get the money together to get them off my back.

Today I received a letter from STA's solicitors stating that 'court proceedings will be issued in the appropriate jurisidiction without further notice' (I Live in England) and I am panicking.

Other threads online tell them to ignore everything, but the original people who post about being in my same position, never come back online and say how it all turned out.

All advice welcome.

I will try and find someone who can help.

Who are STA ?

When you spoke to University, do they say why there is this £700.00 which you had assumed was already paid and why they have not made contact with you before setting the hounds on you ?

Have we helped you ...?         Please Donate button to the Consumer Action Group

Uploading documents to CAG ** Instructions **

Looking for a draft letter? Use the CAG Library