Smile more subscription charge

conchwillow
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 3348 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I left the UK in August 2011, with a £750 balance in my Smile account and two tiny DDs going out each month.

I have just checked the account to find I have been paying a subscription charge of £13 a month for the last 17 months.

Can I claim this back?

Apart from the two DDs I haven't used the account at all, haven't received any statements

- they have an old e mail address and haven't asked me to update it since 2007! and it has cost me a whopping £221!

I am mortified and simply can't afford to throw away £221 like this!

And the first line of their charges doc says "we don't make charges as long as you stay in credit",

then a few pages it down it mentions this subscription fee.

They can't get away with this surely?

What can I do?

What is the account type stated on the paperwork you have ?

If you have the smile account, then claim back all those fees.

Smilemore is the one with a monthly £13 fee. It's one of those accounts that gives you lots of benefits, you know the sort of thing that no one wants and charges you for the privilege of having these free things.

• 2 years later...

conchwillow says:

Apart from the two DDs I haven't used the account at all, haven't received any statements - they have an old email address and haven't asked me to update it since 2007!

coniff replies:

Smilemore is the one with a monthly £13 fee. It's one of those accounts that gives you lots of benefits, you know the sort of thing that no one wants and charges you for the privilege of having these free things.