Help please INTERVIEW UNDER CAUTION RE Suspected Fraud

newby2828
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4706 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi there im new here and after a bit of advice more than anything.

I am a single parent and i have been claiming housing benefit for the last 12 months. I was on maternity leave throughout most of that period and in reciept of working tax and child tax but not in receipt of any maternity allowance or SMP.

Recently my circumstances have changed and informed the housing benefit people immediately. The changes were that i was returning to work on a 16 hour basis on minumum wage and also changed my childcare provider. I provided proof of earnings and childcare details as requested this was 2 weeks ago now. In the mean time i recieved a possesion order off my landlord due to rent arrears ( had no HB for 8 weeks in total) so have been unable to pay. I also provided them a copy of this in case it speeded my claim up a bit.

Today i have recieved a letter from a claims examination officer at the council which reads.

Dear xxxxxxx

Interview under caution

We have reason to conduct an investigation into your claim for benefit. We have arranged an interview to take place at xxxxx at 1pm on June xxxx 2011 . This is beacause there are grounds for suspecting that you MAY have failed to report a change in your HOUSEHOLD COMPOSITION.

It basically goes on to say that ill be interviewd under caution and criminal proceedings may take place. We will provide you with more information about the allegation when you attend the interview