Coucil Tax backdating issue

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5477 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

i posted this in another section but i think i might get more help here !

i have been a single occupant since 1998 where i was a student until June 2001.

from 2001 and 2005 i was charge the full council tax rate even though i was a single occupant and did notify the council verbally and in writing that i should be entitled to the single person's discount but it seems they never received this letter.

now i did manage to write to them again later on ( a few years later as the old account was in dispute and with the bailiffs) and they did change my status to a single occupant from 2005 but i do not remember getting any refunds !

a few months back i wrote to them again demanding my account to be backdated from 2001, and i got a reply saying that they can only backdated from 2005 but if i sent them proof that i was the single occupant they would consider it. i did send them the proof and just got a reply saying that they will not back date further than 2005 and will only investigate if i have proof that i have contacted them at the time.

basically i have no proof and can i claim back my council tax from 2001 to 2005 and if so how?

many thanks in advance

Hi,

I'm going on gut feeling here with no real knowledge.

I would SAR them to get as much paperwork back as possible. Usually when you send letters they are either placed on your file or scanned into a computer. There should be some trace.