Help needed with council tax debt

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5548 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello everyone. I am new to this so forgive any mistakes on how to use it etc please.

I have debt collectors after me for a council tax bill incurred around three years ago. I had already paid off a big chunk of a bill that was in the flat I moved into from a previous tenant (my brother). I had sorted this out with the council but three years later it turns out that there was still £500 owing. I missed the letters from the council and so it was passed to debt collector. My most recent bill was for £950!

They are constantly phoning me and when I tried to set up a payment plan they said the best they could do was let me pay in three installments- £300 a month for three months. Impossible.

I have just read the OFT guidelines and see that this is not lawful. What should I do next?

In addition, I received a notice from them before xmas to say that my account had been paid in full. I called to find out what this was and they said they had no record of any payments.

How do I get to pay in installments and why do I have to pay the debt collectors and extra £400?

Please help!!

Thanks. anyoldiron

Any Old Iron...and hopefully a bit more..! :-D

firstly, stay off the phone!

never talk to a DCA om the phone..ever!

now, can we please clarify this IS a DCA, as typically baillifs are the only one that deal with council tax arrears?

what is the name of the Co.?

if it is a DCA, then its a fishing letter & i'd simply ignore them totally!

dx

please don't hit Quote...just type we know what we said earlier..