Question concerning silly loss of ticket by passenger but falsely asssured it was OK

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5860 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi there, a complete newbie here, seems like a really good site.

Wondering if anyone could tell me if I had a reason to be unhappy with my experience described below. It happened several years ago and I gave up trying to complain in the end but it would be nice to have a concrete answer as to whether or not I had valid grouds for complaint.

I had a return journey with P&O Stenna Line from Harwich to Hoek van Holland. On the outward leg, I stupidly left the return half of my ticket on a table and it was gone by the time I'd realised and gone back to look for it.

I went straight to a member of staff and told him of my incompetent error. I was concerned because I now had no ticket for coming back and was wondering if there was some way I could still travel without a ticket (I know this sounds very naive and desperate but I was only 17 at the time and travelling alone so money was sparse, if not non-existant).

To my pleasant surprise, the very friendly member of staff assured me that all would still be OK on the return leg, because they would have taken my passport number at check-in and so would have it on record that I had bought the return ticket with the precise date and time of return.