Advice about manager's actions

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 2273 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I work as a security guard on a site for £7.50 per hour and I have been there for just over five months.

I work alone on a permanent night pattern of four on four off, twelve hour shifts.

There is only me on the site and when I am off the other guard works.

My elderly mother is going in to hospital for an operation, and I need a week off to look after her when she comes out.

I emailed my manager to explain this, when he emailed me back he said he needed a copy of my mothers hospital operation letter, so that it can be kept on file.

Is it right that he can ask for this as it is my mother private letter?

I sent a photocopy of the letter by email, but I am now wondering if this was an intrusion on my mothers privacy?

I got an email soon after saying that he has granted those days off for me,

but because I asked for that time off,

another guard will be doing my shifts on that site for a month,

and they were sending me to another site for the month.

This site was an hour from my home,

where as my normal site is only 15 minutes from my home.

It is for eight hours instead of twelve and the pay is still £7.50.

When the other guard had a week off I had to work all eight of their shifts and they were not moved to another site.

I rang the manager and said this

he said the site I work on is not my site and I work where I am told.

I then said I am sorry but I will not be working that other site for low pay.

He said he will discuss this with his team and get back to me.

I haven't heard off him and will ring him after the weekend.