Claiming for Interest

victimnomore
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 6416 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I’ve noticed that a number of forum members are finding the subject of “interest” confusing. It would be a real shame if anyone was put off claiming money they were rightly owed because of this.

So I’ve tried to set out an explanation here which I hope will help some people, particularly any new members who might be finding things getting more complicated than they need.

Please understand, I am NO EXPERT. This is just my understanding of the subject and I hope anyone who knows better will criticise or correct as necessary.

But, in the hope that it might help, here goes ... …

There are two types of interest we are concerned with:-

1) Overdraft Interest

Overdraft Interest is charged to a bank account for any period for which the account is overdrawn. The amount charged varies due to the length of time the overdraft was in existence (of course) and also the rate, which is different for different levels of overdraft. In theory, Overdraft Interest is perfectly legitimate - they are charging us for the service of lending us money. However it becomes important to our claims when we remember that part, or perhaps all, of our overdraft at any particular point in time has been caused by the banks own imposition of charges which we are claiming to be unlawful. Logically, if the charges are unlawful, any interest on overdraft amounts caused by those charges should also be illegitimate, and therefore reclaimable. This is the interest referred to in the initial letter.