Norwich Union Direct admin charge

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 6220 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello all this is my first time on here and start by asking my own question. I have cancelled my insurance with Norwich Union Direct because ten years with this company means nothing to them I found a cheaper company by £200 a year they said we cant match that so I said good by then.

Then they told me there will be a £22 pound admin charge fore cancelling my insurance with them wich they did to me last year after my car failed the MOT so I had to take it off the road. Can they do this to me?

NU Direct's policy booklet states the following about cancellation.

This will be calculated on a pro-rata basis for the period in

which you received cover and will include an

additional charge of up to £52.50 (inclusive of

Insurance Premium Tax where applicable) to

cover the administrative cost of providing the

policy.

So if they are charging £22.00 it would appear you got away lightly.

Cahoot - Rejection of offer sent 14/06/07

Barclaycard - S.A.R - (Subject Access Request) sent 22/03/07

Yes, unfortunately they can.

Just phone back and tell them that you have a new car. Pick a group 20, tell them its modified, they won't be able to insure you, and no admin charge!!!

I am mystified as to why NUD have a variable cancellation fee, its not as if one motor insurance policy costs more to administer the cancellation than another one.

Cahoot - Rejection of offer sent 14/06/07

Barclaycard - S.A.R - (Subject Access Request) sent 22/03/07