HSBC _ Metropolitan collection services

blackmanfamily
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4623 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi all

need some help here

have done SAR, got statements, asked nicely for money back... was going to use it to clear my overdraft, the bulk of which is covered by the charges. Got a nasty letter from HSBC collections

Wrote to them and said account was in dispute, please cease from any further action until the account issues are resolved

and guess what they have passed the debt to a collection agency

is this lawfull?

what can i do to chase the debt agency away?

can i complain about hsbc

any ideas???

:p

Hi,

I'm no expert, but there are a few people who might be along shortly can put you right. It is my understanding that once a debt is in dispute, nothing can be done with it until the dispute is resolved.

Cheers,

Lee

• 9 months later...

I have a strange feeling that the account is not in dispute until you file a claim through the court. I maybe wrong about that though. Have you filed a claim with your court yet?

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]If you think my post was helpful, please feel free to click my scales

A prudent question is one-half of wisdom.

:D

Metro are a wholly owned subsidiary of HSBC in other words its just HSBC's debt collection department.

Like all debt collection companies all they care about is getting money off you and they can be pretty heavy handed doing it. Just keep replying to any letters they send confirming that the debt is in dispute and they should refer the matter back to HSBC.