Dispute with British Gas Business, advice needed

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 2476 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello

My business, a pub company, had been a customer of British Gas for 8 years for both electricity and gas.

As both these contracts were due to end in January 2017

I agreed terms and rates to renew with British Gas once again through my broker.

For reasons that are unclear to me British Gas declined to honour the agreed terms at the last minute and forced me to find an alternative supplier.

My broker suggested it was because my business had no trading history, which is absurd as I have been trading since 2009 and have been with BG for the entire time.

I then started to receive a series of 'final' bills from BG.

The first set of bills, for both electricity and gas, were for the period up to 30th January 2017

- my contract end date. The rates applied to these bills were as expected and the consumption was inline with previous years and were duly paid.

I then received a second set of 'final' bills,

with new account numbers, up to the 28th Feb 2017 for electricity and up to 9th March 2017 for gas.

My rates had changed to 'out of contract' rates and my consumption had supposedly more than tripled compared to previous years.

As a pub our electricity consumption barely changes from one month to the next, it powers the lights, fridges and freezers, and is pretty consistent.

The gas powers the ovens in the kitchen, the central heating and hot water and can go up in the winter months. But considering February and March weren't particularly cold this year the increase in consumption that BG are claiming is hard to believe.