need advice with regards to tax credits

jelizdavies
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 2510 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I currently work in education and get paid pro-rata, even though I work term-time only.

I am looking for similar work closer to home to cut out travelling costs and if I am successful would be due to start in September 2017.

In a regular job I would give a month's notice and go straight to a new job in September,

because of working in education my last physical day at work would be mid July,

I would be paid for at the end of July

and I would expect any holiday pay owing etc and a P45 at the end of August.

Is this correct, or in the HMRC's eyes do I become unemployed end of July and lose my tax credits for the summer weeks and have to renew a claim in September for tax credits.

Tried ringing the tax credits but they were a bit unhelpful,

with not really understanding the nature of term time working etc.

I'm worried that I could be with no tax credits over the summer,

and a new claim would mean I go on Universal Credit.

Please advise

Edited by jelizdavies

Term time workers are considered to be working all year round but the guidance is unclear what to do when they stop working. I just trawled through the technical manual and there actually doesn't appear to be anything specific about this. Probably because not every employer will do the same thing.