Leaving UK Debt and moving back to Australia

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 3312 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi,

I am an Australian/British citizen (Dual Nationality) and I have lived in the UK for the past 11 years.

Unfortunately I have made poor choices whilst I have been here and I am in debt. I have been paying a DMP for the past 2 years and I have roughly £9,500 in total left to pay to various creditors.

I have to move back to Australia in about 3 months time due to my parents ill health and this move will be permanent and I have no intention of returning to the UK.

I would like some advice on if I will be chased for this debt in Australia if I just leave without paying?

Also, is there anything I should do in the next 3 months before I leave? I do not want to give them my address in Australia but should I notify them that I am leaving the country?

Thank you for your advice in advance

if you are leaving no assets reclaim as much ppi/penalty charges as you can and run!

please don't hit Quote...just type we know what we said earlier..

DCA's view debtors as suckers, marks and mugs

NO DCA has ANY legal powers whatsoever on ANY debt no matter what it's Type

and they

are NOT and can NEVER  be BAILIFFS. even if a debt has been to court..

If everyone stopped blindly paying DCA's Tomorrow, their industry would collapse overnight... 

Thanks dx100uk

I am just worried about being harassed when I get back to Australia.

As the largest amount I owe to one creditor is £3000 do you think they will chase me for it?

you'd have to gen up a bit here in this forum