akinika

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 3893 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

hi this is my first time on site. i have sent a standard letter to this firm akinika asking for them to send me how they have authority to come after me for a debit they say i have with HMRC.this is the letter i got back. having viewed the above account we advise you that the HMRC, are acting on behalf of Her Majesty's government,and are not bound by the consumer credit act 1974.

the act regulates the way which consumer credit licensees carry on business.for example,there are rules on advertising,pre-contract disclosures,credit agreements and post-contractual information. please forward your propoals for settlement of the account.we are being advised by our client HMRC.

this is after they had sent me a letter saying they wanted full and final payment of the debt. please can someone advise me if they can say this and send my postal order back,if so can i send them a letter asking if i can have a full and final settlement amount.and only have to pay a reduced amount.because the company that this relates to is now wound up by me,and i am now only paye.and i have not got any spare cash to pay them in one go

thanks in advance davestan

Edited by citizenB

Hi welcome to CAG,

The HMRC along with other Government departments are authorised to use 3rd party debt collection agency to collect taxes, loans and underpayments.

Yes they can do the this and are correct this is NOT a consumer credit debt and has nothing to do with the Consumer Credit Act 1974.