Insurance advice needed

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4594 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I'm new in my dealing with insurance companies and not sure if I'm on the right track.

I had a massive leak which damaged most of my house, the kitchen was completely destroyed.

Now the builders that are working for the insurance company keep trying to charge us for extra works which is fine but his quotes are 70% more than quotes I got from local firms. I went with the local firms and I think this has ****ed him off.

The house is being redecorated and each thing we feel needs repair is a fight every time.

In terms of the kitchen, they are not willing to tell me what they valued my original kitchen at, nor is the price of the new kitchen available and nor is the cost of the replacement appliances. Basically I feel it’s my right to be told this information especially as they are trying to charge me an extra 3k for going over budget when they won't even tell me what they budget is. Considering the quotes I received for other works in the house I feel they have stuck another 70% on top.

Now I am insisting he give me the price and full budget but I feel I'm being fobbed off, It is my right to be given this info, is that right? I understand the guy has overheads but I feel that I’m being ripped off.

Many thanks

Have you asked your insures?

They have appointed the builder, have they not?

PLEASE HELP US TO KEEP THIS SITE RUNNING

EVERY POUND DONATED WILL HELP US TO KEEP HELPING OTHERS

Click Here To Make A Donation