Definition of an HMO - Me Vs Southwark Council+Ex-Landlord

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4794 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I've cross posted this as I've only just spotted this section! Apologies!!!

I'll try and keep this brief because I've told it so many times, to so many people I'm sick of it. I just want to make sure I'm going to CAB on Monday completely prepared.

I lived in a 3 bedroom shared house in london from July 2005 to December 2008. From the time I moved in till July 2008 I was a full time student and when I graduated my landlord assured me that my ctax had been included in my rent all along. I requested a new tenancy agreement as mine had run out years and years ago was with my dad's employers (my student accommodation was paid by them).

I was registered on the council tax from when I first moved in and as other tenants came and left I *assumed* (wrong move) that they were being as honest as me and putting themselves on the c tax. It wasn't until I found out my LL was telling them not to.

There were originally 3 rooms, two doubles and one single. Each rented out separately and each with its own tenancy agreement. We had locks on our doors and shared a kitchen, bathroom and a living room until June 2008.

In June 2008 my LL said that he was going to convert our living room into another bedroom in exchange for a tumble dryer and not increasing the rent. If we didn't like it, we could find somewhere else to live. So by the time I left there were about 6 of us living there.