Tradewise Car Trade Insurance - Wont Pay Help!

nickyb2010
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4209 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

My Mother has a Fully Comp Trade policy with Tradewise. I am a named driver on the policy as I sometime drive cars for her. Around a month ago a man came to view a car and during the process of the viewing he asked to hear the engine whilst it was running he simply drove away and stole the car. We reported this to the police straight away and the Insurance also. Trade wise have finally responded to say that they will not be paying anything towards this claim because if we refer to the insurance manual they don't cover for theft from intended purchase. I know there might not be much that we can do as it is written in black and white but if you can help in anyway that would be great thank you

Hi nicky

I think you need to put your case to them in writing, for the time being put aside what it says in the manual. See if the same exculsion applies to policies from other Insurance companies. When you allow someone to look at your car, you don't know there going to steal it, a theft is a theft. A bit of a sham policy.

If you didn't think it was unjust you wouldn't be here, so lets see what happens. The next complaint is to the Financial Ombudsman Service. Send the letters recorded.

http://www.biba.org.uk/ComplaintsandTracing.aspx

http://www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk/contact/index.html