Car insurance help after accident.

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4965 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi,

I am a named driver on my Grandad's insurance and have recently had an accident (the fault is still being disputed) and the car is a write off.

The car in question is a 2004 1.2 Corsa 3door. It was purchased for little over 3 grand.

The insurance are currently offering me £2447 for the car which i believe is not enough, but they are also minusing the excess of £250 (fair enough) but an additional £500 for what i believe is the rest of the insurance time, but I cannot under stand this. Although we pay monthly, there is more than £500's worth on insurance left to pay! So cannot understand where they get the figure from. Also, they did say that if we took more insurance out with them, then they will give us back the £500.

Are they allowed to do this? It doesnt seem to make sence to me :!:

Also, I have not accepted the first offer of £2447, should I ask for the £3000 or so that I originally paid for (or there about's, I said it was worth £4000 on the insurance)?

One more question while I am at it, I had the accident but as I am the named driver, and not actually making the claim, for the next time I take out insurance do I say i had an accident or do I say my Grandad made a claim (or both?)

Many thanks, I did try searching but couldnt really find much (plus I am in a bit of a rush at the moment).

Chris.

Are they allowed to do this? It doesnt seem to make sence to me :!: