Council Tax - Landlord agreed to pay when lease was signed and.... didn't

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4991 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi,

New user but old problem. Council Tax and shady landlords.

I have been teaching abroad for last 3 years only to come back home to Scotland to find my ex-flatmate says we have been hit for a £2000 council tax bill for the time we stayed together in a 2 bed flat from 2006-2007.

I was astonished because we never received any letters about this when we lived together about this and there were 4 witnesses that were present when we signed the lease that could swear on oath that our landlord said HE would pay ALL the bills specifically including council tax, gas, electricity and even the TV licence! The only one we had to pay was the internet & phone bill.

Unfortunately from reading up on this I think we are in a bad position:

1) According to the Council's guidelines, we as the tenants are responsible to pay the bill it seems.

2) No copy of the lease can be found. All my stuff was scattered to the winds when I moved away and my flatmate can't find his copy either.

3) From my vague recollection I am 99% sure that we would not have signed anything that said we were liable for bills but also I do not think the tenancy said that the landlord was responsible either. I think it was just understood as a verbal agreement. I know now this was incredibly stupid not to get it in writing.