SO ANGRY with planning! Can't exchange!

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5040 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi everyone!

About 4 months ago I put a reservation fee down for a newbuild (2 bedrooms), which I will purchase through HomeBuy Direct scheme.

Everything going smoothly, building almost finished (ahead of schedule even), mortgage offer in place, paperwork complete and ready - JUST WAITING FOR THE COUNCIL TO PUT A RUBBER STAMP ON!!!!!

Planning was meant to be given at the end of May - council delayed, their excuse was "because of the general elections" (I'm a teacher, I work for the government too, we didn't stop working because of the election). Anyway, they said they would do the stamp/planning meeting TODAY (10/11 June).

Yesterday I found out they have pushed it back ANOTHER month, until the 8th July, because somebody didn't complete some sort of report (don't know exactly what, I will try to find out more today).

In the meantime, my mortgage offer is now going to expire - which means not only stressing for a new one, but maybe paying another arrangement fee, PLUS I have to find somewhere to RENT for a whole month and a half, which AGAIN, means money and stress.

All this not even knowing for sure that on the 8th the council isn't going to come up with ANOTHER excuse and push the date back AGAIN.

I think they are having a laugh - are they REALLY allowed to do this? Don't they have any kind of obligations, rules, or timeframes/deadlines that they need to stick to?