Can I claim Cont JSA if i have been sacked

bstu123
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5139 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi All,

I have just been sacked from my job for gross misconduct (left early without informing supervisor).

Can I claim cont based JSA as I have been working continously for 8 years in this position?

Also I have a mortgage (interest only) would I get help with this?

Thanks in advance.

B.

What can happen is a JSA sanction; this is where you still have an active claim, however you receive no money. A sanction can be applied for up to 26 weeks, and is applicable after you apply for JSA, not from when employment ceased as is often misunderstood.

It is not cut and dry that a person whom has had their employment terminated definately will be sanctioned. Each case is decided upon its own factors. Some cases will have sanctions, others will not. Some will be sanctioned for two weeks, some more and some for the full 26 weeks.