Accidental dual insurance (doh!) in the event of a claim.

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5332 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi, newbie here, hoping for some useful advice.

In summary, my question concerns accidental dual insurance and what to do in the event of a claim.

My situation:

About three weeks ago my garage was broken into and my bike, worth £2,500 was stolen. Naturally, I notified the police and my buildings and contents insurance company (Halifax) as soon as possible. I have a claims consultant from Halifax visiting me next week, which I was told was standard practice given the value of the claim for a single item (the bike was covered for said value under their single item cover).

However, in going through my files to prepare for the visit I have discovered that, since January, I have also inadvertently had building and contents insurance with Nationwide. My policy from last year had apparently auto-renewed (just found the letter which gives me 21 days notice of the right to cancel!) and, amongst all the other direct debits, I hadn't noticed the £25 or so leaving my account each month. I'm now almost £250 quid out of pocket for what I guess was a fairly simple mistake to make and, as an aside, any advice on how to recoup those premiums if possible would be appreciated.

However, returning to the matter of the outstanding bike claim with Halifax, what should I do? Two concerns immediately spring to mind: