Council liability for plumbing repairs?

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5388 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi there

I am a plumber and a couple of months ago I was called to the home of an elderly council tenant who was experiencing problems. She was finding that her washing machine was filling up with dirty water after use. She suspected the plumbing of her flat was at fault but the council believed otherwise. Council contractors visited her flat, the first of which made a hole in the pipework causing the kitchen floor to become saturated and his subsequent efforts to stop the leak were futile. The puddling on the floor continued for a couple of weeks - the tenant having to use several of her own towels to absorb the water - before another contractor attended and replaced this section of pipe. This stopped the leak but the washing machine still continued to fill with dirty water. The council maintained that the problem was with the washing machine and it was the responsibility of the tenant to pay for any repair work required.

When I visited I drained the water from the washing machine and disconnected the waste hose from the wastepipe of the flat and ran a cycle with the machine empty. The waste water was collected in several buckets. The cycle ran perfectly well eliminating the washing machine as being the cause of the problem. I noticed that the pipework was incorrectly positioned to allow for proper drainage so I ended up replacing this section. Following this I ran the washing machine which worked fine and all the wastewater drained away as it should.