Has my pension been stolen?

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5458 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Apologies if this is in the wrong thread....

Hi,

I am a full time school teacher, and have been for the last 10 years or so.

When I first started teaching I 'opted out' of the teachers pension scheme so that I would have a few extra quid to myself whilst I was fresh out of university. I did not pay any pension contributions for about 6 months in 1999.

In September of 1999, I got a new job at a different school. On my first payslip from them it had a teachers pension contribution deducted from it. Fair enough I thought, I would start paying into it.

Thing is, after a phone call to the teachers pensions department this week, it seems as though all my pension contributions from that point on have not been accredited to me. In fact they tell me I have no pension at all with them.

I can prove I have made the payments every month for the past 10 years, but my question is this...

Since I 'opted out' in 1999, and have not officially opted back in. Is all that money technically mine that I should/could be demanding it back with interest?

Or, is it the case that although I havent opted in officially, that money has to be accredited to me as I have made the payments?

Or, worse case scenario, I have lost all that money!

Its all very confusing, and I had no luck getting any sense from the person on the other end of the phone at TP.

Any light that can be shed on this will be gratefully welcomed.

I wouldnt think you have lost it, especially as you can prove it has been paid.

Just bumping your thread so others will see it. :)