Will the flat-owners be covered?

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5551 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello.

I'm a newbie to these threads so I'm not sure if I've chosen the right sub-forum.

I own a flat that is normally let out. Currently it is empty and yesterday I went over to tidy it up. My flat is in a converted block with 10 flats.

The inner door that gives everyone with a key access to the building was open when I got there. There is a sign up asking everyone to shut this door carefully when they come in or out. The spring is clearly not powerful enough to keep the door shut and needs a human to shut it. Although I was only at the property for a few hours yesterday a couple of times when I went downstairs I found the inner door open. The outer door is always unlocked for the postman etc.

I rang up the managers of the building and asked them to fit a more powerful spring for the inner door. The house is mismanaged and the answer I was given was this would have to be put to a vote of the flat-owners. This goes against the lease I do know but the managers haven't a clue and have a policy of putting all sorts of things to a vote, in all their managed properties, even quite small things.

When I spoke to the boss for the managing agents he insisted that there was no need for the inner door to click shut automatically as any burglar would still have to get through the door of a flat-owner. So it may not even get put to a vote!