prudential pension

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5755 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

hi folks, have posted this here as prudential is an assuarance company and couldnt find anything else that was anywhere near my question!!!!

ok, so i saw in the paper a couple of weeks ago that if your private pension was under a certain amount (16k I think) you can ask for it all to be paid in one go. my pension is, so i wrote to prudential and asked why i wasnt offered this and could i have it NOW, to which they said no. this is because apparently this scheme only came in in april 2006 and i started drawing mine in january 2006. the amount i get (which equates to just over £8 a week!!!) is so small , and the interest on the credit card is more than that. I could pay everything off and the measly amount of pension and pension credit would a lot further. is there anything i can do to appeal this? i asked the lady on the phone and she insisted there was nothing more could be done BUT several times she did say that it was at the discretion of the company which may mean they may be open to a little bit of persuation. when i asked for my pension to be paid out before i was sixy (i started drawing ir on 1st jan 2oo6 and was sixty in september 2007) they didnt tell me that if i waited i would have it all.

anyone have any ideas how i can beg and grovel?? this would make a huge difference to me and very little difference to them. it would be less than 10k total and the £8 or so a week they are paying me is probably costing them more to administer it. thanks.xxxxx

Hiya,

The rules that you are refering to are called 'triviality' and came about in April 2006.