Liability admitted - question of quantum

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5889 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Been a while since I worked in insurance so need to check something:

A has contents insurance (new for old) with B for a council property.

Council has admitted liability for damage caused to contents through faulty workmanship which has allowed mould growth on contents.

A has obtained quotes for replacement of damaged contents on a new for old basis. The council however, states that is pairs out on a wear and tear damage basis, and is only offering A about 50% of the cost that it would be under new for old.

A has contacted his insurer who have said that they will make up the rest.

Now I say that As insurer should pay the full amount and reclaim that off the council, or that the council should offer payment on a new for old basis. Can anyone advise on what current practice is on such matters? I am somewhat behind the times.

Thanks.

I'm a bit rusty as well but my own feeling is that the council liability extends only to reinstatement and that A would be unable to claim on the contents policy in any event as the damage is caused by gradual deterioration and not directly by any of the normally insured risks (I'm making an assumption there as you don't say what the nature of the faulty work is).