style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 3717 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello there, after getting great advice on my first question I posted here, I thought I'd see what advice I can get with this issue I'm having!

I've been renting an apartment for 6 months and the tenancy is due to be renewed at the end of this month, I thought I would just have to phone them up to say I would like to stay another 6 months, but they said I have to come in, and then pay them £99 for mine and the landlords "security"...

Is this the letting agency trying to claw more agency fees? If so, is there anything I can say to not have to pay?

Thanks a lot in advance

I presume there is a deposit already held in an appropriate system?

I do not understand the requirement for a further payment as a 'security' a small charge maybe ok for rewriting the tenancy agreement but imo £99.00 is excessive.

Personally I would demand a full explanation as to what this charge actually is.

Any Letters I Draft are N0T approved by CAG and no personal liability is accepted.

Please Consider making a donation to keep this site running!

Nemo Mortalium Omnibus Horis Sapit: Animo et Fide:

Personally I wouldn't go in and sign anything, I'd just ignore them!

At the expiry of your initial 6 month tenancy, your tenancy will turn a periodic ('rolling') tenancy, which continues until either you or your landlord make steps to stop it (you by offering 1 month notice, landlord by more complicated means!). You are not obliged to agree a new fixed term contract.

Just ignore them. Sounds like the agents are trying to make a quick buck, so to speak.